TIRZ #3 (Downtown)

A Tax Increment Reinvestment Zones (TIRZ) is a tool to finance public improvements within a defined area. The improvements should enhance the environment and attract new investment. The statutes governing tax increment financing are in Chapter 311 of the Texas Tax Code.

A municipality makes an area eligible for tax increment financing by designating a reinvestment zone, also called a tax increment reinvestment zone (TIRZ) or a tax increment financing (TIF) zone.



  • Once annually in February or as needed
  • City Hall
    4000 Main St, Rowlett, TX 75088 View Map





The Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Number Three Board is comprised of seven regular members appointed by City Council.

Member Position Term Expires
Mayor Margolis
Board Member Continuous
Councilmember Place 1
Board Member Continuous
Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Winget
Board Member Continuous
Councilmember Bowers
Board Member Continuous
Councilmember Britton
Board Member Continuous
Councilmember Schupp
Board Member Continuous
Mayor Pro Tem Shinder
Board Member Continuous
Time Commitment

The Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Number Three Board meets once a year typically in February of each year or as needed.

Board Responsibilities

The Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Number Three Board serves in an advisory capacity to the City Council with respect to Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Number Three matters. Members receive periodic reports on taxes assessed and collected for Zone Number Three, review project costs and project plans, and recommend financing strategies for such plans.